Next Move

As it turns out, I am once again going to be moving to a different location. Having a garden just doesn’t seem to be happening this year… again. Which really puts a damper on my spirits. For once, I would just like to see my peppers flower and fruit. Along with my other herbs and plants. However, all is not lost.

Because we had such a horrible winter here, I took it upon myself to pot everything so that if the location I chose was not working, I could move them to a more permanent location when I found it. Since I have only been here 6 months, I have no clue when and where the summer sun will be at the specific times that I want. So, I woke up every morning and monitored where the sun was shining, where the dappled shade was, and which spots got the most adequate amount of direct sunlight per day. To no avail as this seems to have been a waste of time.

My mind has been on a path of peppers, but also using Herbs medicinally and how I can incorporate that into a way of living. Not to say that I want to become some shaman or anything, but perhaps a friend of a shaman. A provider of natural herbal medicines and as such, I am learning about many different herbs and how to identify them. I am also making a list of herbs and plants which I think would be worthwhile to learn as much as possible about: Golden Seal, Echinacea, St. John’s Wart, Black Cohosh, Milk Thistle, and Pipsissewa for starters.

Each of these plants that I have chosen have a special significance which I will share as I learn more and more about them. They each have special properties that help aid specific ailments that I suffer.

As I sit in the rain, there is not much to do but research and listen to music and count down the days until I will not be here warm and comfortable. Dreading the fact that I will have to move my entire garden one more time for the past 3 growing seasons… So it goes…

This time has given me a mostly drawn out business plan though. So it’s not entirely time wasted. It’s given me more of a purpose. An educated explanation of what few and simple things that I want for myself. It’s going to be hard, being homeless and all, but maybe things will work out. Just maybe…

Leave a Reply

