Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (Book Review)

One of the most romantic books I have ever read. While reading, I couldn’t help but to fall in love with the characters myself. Their strange mannerisms. The way the went about their lives in their own peculiar fashion and how they were constantly entangled within the story. There was no shortage of excitement, anxiety, mystery, and most importantly true love.

Following the main protagonist, Daniel Sempere, I found that his thirst for truth and knowledge, I found myself in a place called “The Cemetery of Forgotten Books”. A labyrinth of books waiting to one day be opened. Not a lot of people know about this place, but Daniel and his father fortunately own and work a book store. So I assumed that they just had the right connections.

Shadow of the Wind, a novel written by Julian Carax(in the story) is being hunted down along with his other works and being destroyed. Burned, shredded, etc. Daniel, with all the courage he can muster, tries to keep the last copy of the book safe from the ominous and mysterious person trying to destroy it and a crooked policeman.

As a bad guy, the policeman fit the mold pretty well. He was as crooked as a witch’s nose and was extremely violent. It seemed to me that he left pools of blood in his wake. Whenever someone in the town talked about him, it was never anything pleasant.

Throughout the story, I can honestly say that it never ceased to catch my attention. Almost as if the author wanted to entice me, writing in such a way that held me in anxious wonder about what could possibly happen on the next page. The writing style itself was key component in my enjoyment of this book. Casual and easy to envision with the right amount of descriptive context.

This read was one that I really enjoyed, and I plan on reading it again in the near future.

Thank You, Dear Reader, for your time.

P.S. I have another book review coming up soon. “Beautiful You” by Chuck Palahniuk.

Leave a Reply

