Inch by Inch

Or in this case, really, Square foot by square foot.

I’m sure that I’ve mentioned that I’ve started reading Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew and has proven to be filled with useful information. Although, I must admit Dear Reader, that I feel as if most gardening books always start off the same. Going over the basic terms and jargon of the gardening world, so-to-speak. Explaining the importance of soil. How to check your soil. How to check pH. And what the letters NPK mean to a gardener.

Getting through the first couple of chapters, (I’m currently on the last page of chapter 5) I find myself saying, “well, gee, I know that”. Which is something that I think I can be a bit proud of. Knowing most of what Mel is talking about in the beginning chapters, it feels good to go through a sort of refresher course. There is a rewarding feeling in getting some answers right, right?

I think that there is a lot of work that still needs to be done in the garden, but as the title of this post suggests, there is progress happening inch by inch. Which is a great feeling. I have decided that because of my situation, I am going to start a whole lot of pepper starts so that I might have something to trade later on in the season. When I think about all the peppers that I could have, it makes me kind of excited. And I know that people love peppers, and to be honest, it’s the one plant that I really know how to grow.

My plan has started, and with it I have 5 varieties of peppers. Giving me a good chance to do some trading or at least make some really spicy sauce. Which could also be a trade.

The only thing that I wish I had more of is Herb seeds. It is the only thing that this Garden lacks. However, I believe that I will be able to acquire some soon. Thank you for your time Dear Reader. Happy Gardening!

Leave a Reply

