Spring and Sprouts

So as you might know, Dear Reader, I’m working on beautifying the backyard here. And it is coming along smoothly. This morning I woke up to find that my start tray had come to life over-night! It makes me happy to finally be gardening again. It’s one of the things that keep me sane in this concrete jungle. When I see all this concrete, violence, and ever-more concrete, seeing the beginning of a life-cycle that will eventually become food gives me hope.

I made a key hole bed (after battling with the crabgrass for about 3 hours) and it turns out that the soil, if you could call it that right now, is completely depleted. So now, one of my tasks is to turn that dirt into soil. You know what they say, Dear Reader, “Dirt first!”.

So far, we have a 1 year pepper plant with multiple starts ready to go. Romaine Lettuce sprouts. And broccoli sprouts. (The lettuce and broccoli amazingly took only two days) The squash and gourds are all volunteers. Last but not least, Cucumber that we have just transplanted. We have a bunch of different veggies that we’ll be growing one they get started, but for now I’ll keep those for another post.

I know that I said I would start including photos, but I still don’t have the device that would do this garden any justice, as they say. I’m excited for Spring, and all the joy that comes with gardening. I know that there will be a lot of things that I will have to say about all of the wonderful things I will learn, and I will be posting as I go along. As always.

I do have a question for you Dear Reader, how do you fix your soil? Any tips or tricks? Thank you for your input and time. Cheers!

One thought on “Spring and Sprouts

  1. petra08

    hi,
    it sounds like you will get some great veggies from your garden! I have a garden and an allotment and I always dig in compost, before we put any plants in at the beginning of the season, when I take something out and a final dig in over winter. It gives the soil an opportunity to re generate and give more nutrition to your veggies! 🙂 I would love to see some pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

