Close to Home

As I have said, I have been home for four days. Something that I wanted to share with you, Dear Reader, is the reality that I live in. And that is the constant barrage of violence, and murder that I witness involving the police. Now, I don’t know if you know this or not, but although I’m homeless I am also an activist against police brutality. I have very close friends who have lost family members at the hands of the police. And these friends are really down to Earth who have my back whenever I need it so I will always have theirs and I will continue to fight for them and honor their loved ones by speaking up against injustice.

The reason for this post is so that I might get something off of my chest and hopefully enlighten those of you who are unaware of the violence that goes on within this city and the surrounding areas. The happiest place on Earth. Right here in Orange County.

A woman was shot through a metal door just 3 blocks away from here. And that was the first person that I learned about even before I could get my bags in the door. I couldn’t even enjoy my cigarette without hearing about death. If you didn’t know, or if I was too lazy to type it down or post, whenever I am home, my life consists of going to actions and protests and filming the police when it is needed. I am a firm believer in holding them accountable. (and hey when the cameras come out, they act right!)

Within these four days, I have learned of many deaths in Orange County and Los Angeles. And that’s not to mention all the other accounts in different states. Police violence is real, and if you want to talk about how “they’re not all bad”, then we might have a lengthy discussion. The way that I see it is like this:

If you have an ice-cream cone, your favorite flavor too, and their was a piece of cat poop on it. Do you go ahead and lick around the piece of shit? or do you simply throw it away and get a new one?

This is how I feel about every single police department. You might say that they’re not all bad (the ice-cream) but will admit that there are some bad apples (the cat poop) so you’re stuck with a broken department that will never be fixed. I feel that most people in this country accept the fact that the departments are there for a reason and will continue to lick around the cat poop. I’m just saying.

Well, thank you Dear Reader for reading. If you want to discuss anything or want to share your opinion on the matter, please let me know. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

