Shipwreck Oasis

This ship takes me like it will always do
Pretty fucking angry it led me away from you
I’m a shipwrecked pirate without a crew

Everything that I see shares a memory
Looking at the sea and when I’m looking at trees

The planet keeps turning and my eyes are done burning
Like the stars at dawn as they slip quietly away
There used to be a washboard in this band
Now these strings are alone again
But I’m doing my best to sound better

There was a washboard right here with that rat-tat-tat
Keeping the tempo with that metal click-clack
And like my rum it’s gone
And like my loot it’s gone
There used to be a washboard in this band

Knowing loss is to find a desert island once again
An oasis of loneliness
Each grain of sand a memory and my ship wrecks against the shore
Waves crash back and forth
Each a new moment passed and added to the sandy floor

Laying in the grass blades, each cuts into my skin
Slices of what had been
Bleeding out all the hurt and pain
Each cell in my body going up in flames

There used to be a washboard in this band
But since I’ve crashed nothing sounds as planned
Another dead poem with a desperate strum
I wish there was a washboard instead of a hum

Hmmmm hmm hmm
Rat-tat-skat
Hmmmm hmm hmm

Leave a Reply

