Momentum (and a few thoughts on Ferguson)

image

My printed directory and phone have arrived! Now comes the tedious, yet exciting, task of calling up hosts. It being winter and all, it can be difficult. Though I will try. I have been trying to find people of the same mind set to travel with. To no avail. I have been spending time doing this, and I’m not discouraged. Usually, there is always someone to meet on the road.

Having a phone again reminds me, however, that I don’t have anyone to really talk to, laugh out loud. But with one, it’s easier for host farms to contact me, which is a plus.

I have been keeping up with the news in Ferguson, and as much as I hate to admit it, I think everyone who was following knew what the outcome would be. Thus, the riots all over the place. I even heard someone stole some crossbows from a pawn shop. It’s sad, but the fact that cops get away with murder is horrifying. It’s the kind of society that I don’t want to live in.

One of the things I would like to stress is that by using violence it will only perpetuate more violence. After all the images that I saw, it reminded me of what a teacher told me about true “anti-social” behaviour. Anti social behaviour isn’t someone who doesn’t like to talk to other people. It is the destruction of objects or places that are used by the community/public so as to inhibit the joy of using those objects or places.

Whether I see it as justified anger or merely another attempt to show that people who care are violent, I’m not sure. Yet. How do feel about what happened in Ferguson?

Thank you Dear Reader for any input and it is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

