Consistency

Like the water flowing through a brook
You’re every path I’ve ever took
The songs I’ve sang while my earth shook
And I miss you deeply

The billboard signs
And highway shrines
The wandering eyes
Of those who lie

I am the purpose of a lonely heart.

The running waters of a spring
The ghastly thoughts of a banshee’s scream
The wonders of a sand mans dreams
I am the heart inside of me

The purpose of a lonely heart

Duality built with small wood blocks
I am the lone island and not a rock
The currents drift while the world is shocked
Focusing on what will rot

The worms in the ground have masked parades
Squirming through their adult phase
Knowing nothing but the embrace
Of warm hard dirt in a summer’s gaze

And I am the purpose of a lonely heart

It has been like water, every single breath
Drowning in memory and its every death
The beating heartbeat of what is left

The purpose of a lonely heart…

Leave a Reply

