Permaculture vs $1200

Reading through posts of beautiful gardens with annual and perennial fruits and vegetables from normal farmers and students alike. People who have discovered (or rather “re-discovered) that a cohesive relationship with the sentients around them can be exponentially beneficial. A lot of regular and beautiful gardens. Why are those words italicized? Because when reading through some post I found a photo of Geoff Lawton’s autograph on a piece of paper that cost someone $1200. And that Dear Reader is a shame.

Or a sham, whichever you’d prefer. I’d like to think that we would have strayed away from this type of capitalist gain and influence (Which is a question I will be trying to ask him personally) I don’t see the sense in one man gaining so much from common sense, selling it as if it were novel.  Where does that money go? To more tractors for the construction of swales? I have found many old texts teaching the same principles from literally 80+ years ago.

I have seen gardens built with old and young hands, without two pennies to rub together. Built with only the will to provide for their family. Working with a knowledge passed down and open to innovation. And Lo, they were beautiful.

Our goal should be a free one. A foundation built on money will only perpetuate dealings with more money. And this fact is true. At least to me. Thus, my concern is for our youth (I am 24) who will not know any other way then to use money. How someone is making money by telling other people there is a way to save money by spending money to find it out is baffling. There is no reason why the generations to come should not eat the fruit of their predecessors. And this sentiment comes in two forms. We can eat fruits but we can not eat stocks or money.

We have reaped the degeneration of our planet to such extents that we have finally figured out, just as the 100th monkey did, that it is time to change. We’ve lived off a system of money, and that does not work. And I am sorry to  rant, but it really upsets me.

I apologise to you Dear Reader for the rant, and anyone else spending ludicrous amounts of Federal Reserve notes in the name of permaculture. May your harvest be bountiful and your pocket books be filled with seeds instead of the faces of the dead. Thank you for your time.

6 thoughts on “Permaculture vs $1200

  1. wbduvall

    It was really more than an autograph. It was 6 months of education and live lectures from half way across the globe. I added in the cost of a textbook I purchased that was not required but I wanted. Of course, I then had to pass the final exam with my first permaculture design to receive said certificate. So the certificate to me is representative of passing my personal achievement to myself and I think you downplayed that a bit and really, turned the hard work I put in into into a sort of self-fulfilling writing tool that circles back upon itself to magically prove an opinion. But I think you’re a smart enough writer to know this, but in your initial position is an assumption that somebody would pay $1200 for an autograph rather than an education. And to me, whether that’s trading a tractor, labor, cookies or dollar bills is irrelevant if we’re agreeing upon the value. When re-thought about from an education point of view, $1200 isn’t much for a semester of school or class or a certification in topic. If your coming from an impoverished mindset however, where it’s difficult still to see the abundance and value in all things, you may demand an egomaniacal denunciation amongst your followers for somebody tainting your own personal view of a topic which of course, only an egomaniac would truly believe should be the one true definition shared by all. But to me permaculture is about abundance and learning to live in abundance in everything. And likely everything includes money (unless you pull another magical syntax tool out of your writing hat) but whatever hopefully some of your devoted legions will check out my blog now. regards- wbduvall

    Reply
  2. trughost Post author

    I did not mean to denounce your hard work and effort. I’m actually happy that people will become “certified”. And I’m sorry, but this post is not neccessarily about you. It is more about the reach of Capitalism and my effort to get away from it. And about being impoverished, is it not a bit of denouncing in itself? Courses like this, that are ‘seemingly’ inexpensive to some, may not be so easily attained by others. Those who might not be able to afford such courses is my point. Sorry if I have offended you.

    Reply
  3. wbduvall

    I’m starting to like you. I thought after posting I may have overreacted a touch… I’m a quick tongued writer with speedy fingers and it often gets me in trouble on this impersonal internet… anyways we are on the same team here, so I apologize as well. I just wanted to more like you and join your movement! haha 🙂 regards

    Reply
  4. permiechick

    First I just wanted to thank you for stopping by my site. I also wanted to let you know that I appreciate what you talk about above and you’re right, much of what a PDC teaches boils down to observation and common sense. But in our culture, these basics are not often taught or if they are, we’ve forgotten them. I’ve spent quite a bit on permaculture education and while I feel that I’ve gained so much from it, it’s not necessary for everyone.

    If you’re evaluating if a PDC is the right choice for you it needs to be based on your own learning style and circumstances. I know a lot of people that can read a book and have an in depth understanding of a topic where others need to feel it, see it, and do it to fully understand. I’m of the later sort. If I was younger, without a family and business, I would have sought out a low cost work-study/WWOOF situation which would have been the best way for me to learn. Since I am a bit more tied down with family and work, I traded time and a classroom/farm environment for money.

    All of the courses I’ve attended (both traditional PDC and advanced design courses) have been on-site courses lead (mostly) by local instructors with local knowledge. Over the years I’ve been to the homes of many of these instructors and it’s clear they teach because they believe in sharing this message and not because it will bring them wealth. It’s a difficult industry to be in.

    As with everything, there will always be an elite few, but many times they got there for a reason. Most in this field are just trying to do what they believe is best and share the message. For me the certificate hasn’t meant much at the end of the day but the journey along the way and the connections I’ve made have been invaluable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

